Okay,

So this is indirectly related to the title of the post. It was the subject of a recent presentation that I did for staff at my school. I felt it important to let staff know how I use the Internet as a valuable resource for my learning for the benefit of my classroom and my students. Globally there is a wealth of information being generated every minute and educators are becomming less transparent and more willing to share. Where do they share this, well each of us have our areas where we go to gain knowledge and share it. So my presentation was about how to educate staff abot where to get this information. So below is an explanation of what I do and the links are provided as well.

PLN’s

A personal learning network or PLN is a network of people that we can gather information from. I have my own and you can read about how I have developed my in my previous blogs but here are the links that I have mentioned in the Prezi.

Twitter

Over the past two years I have been on Twitter using it to find people who have similar interest as me. I dont care for those that want to tell me that they have just brushed their teeth. That is, those people around the world who wish to partake in reshaping education through the use of 21st century tools. I have started following those people that to me MATTER. I am constantly building my PLN through this. I also click on the links that they post and subscribe to their feeds (more about this soon).

WordPress

This is where I write my blog. Not only this but I like to search through the millions of blogs and find interesting things that a relavent to my teaching. If you search you will find others around the world that can assist in your learning on any subject you choose.

Wikispaces

Wikis are a site that allows anyone to create a website and people can visit and gain information. I use it to allow students to start creating their own digital footprints. Now, other  teachers are starting to create their own Wikis so that you can benefit from what they want you to learn in your own time.

Ning

Ning is similar to Wikis and each of them have their own abilities which can be explored. Originally to create a Ning it was free but now you have to pay a monthly fee which NGS pays for. I use it to teach my HSC subject IPT and develop a massive resource for students to use as a study aid. Not only this but I keep regular updates and recently I have developed a virtual classroom using Smallworlds. This is allowing me to run classes out of the normal rhelms of a school timetable.

There are literally thousands of Web 2.0 applications out there  and the picture in the Prezi shows this. The problem is…..now that you are starting to develop a PLN how do you keep track or all this.

The solution is simple: Subscribe to the RSS feeds of the sites that matter to you! This can be done using different methods. I subscribe to RSS feeds using my email account. This means that all of my subscriptions are placed in my Inbox of my Outlook 2007 account. They are transportable and I can read them anytime I wish. However, if you dont have Outlook you can use Google Reader: or Delicious as Suzanne Figures showed you.

Have a watch of this one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6ILQrUrEWe8 

and this one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_A-ZVCjfWf8&feature=player_embedded

Thanks for reading

Andrew

